Read-a-likes, If You Liked This Read This

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday theme is read-a-likes. If you’re anything like me when you find a good book you just want more like it. Here are some of my favorite recent reads and books that satisfied some of what I loved about each of them. I’ve written reviews about each that you can read, and if you want befriend me, on my Goodreads.

Princess Academy: If you liked reading about the experiences of Miri and her friends preparing to  possibly be the next princess in Princess Academy I highly recommend The Selection by . I didn’t expect to like this book as much as I did but I really enjoyed it (and this is from a non-Bachelor/Bachelorette fan). It has hints of a dystopian world and aimed at an older reader both of which were perfect for me.

Harry Potter: Yeah I know a couple weeks ago I did a whole posts about book suggestions for J.K. Rowling fans but I can’t get enough of the Potter and I’m in the middle of a new book that I think Potter fans would enjoy: Inkheart by

The Hunger Games: I have four suggestions for Hunger Games fans. Partials by Dan Wells and Divergent by Veronica Roth. I love love love both of these books. Both satisfy that dystopian bug that The Hunger Games has given so many as well as tout awesome, strong female main characters. Also on the dystopian female POV front I would definite recommend Legend by Marie Lu as well as Shatter Me by Taherah Mafi.

Comments

  1. Yes and yes. Also, “The Maze Runner” was kind of like the Hunger Games, and I really liked it.

  2. Oh I have read almost all of those and love them. Great Choices.

  3. I really like your list! I will be checking out Princess Academy and Inkheart :)

    Top Ten Tuesday

    Lisa @ Shatterbooks

  4. I haven’t read the Selection yet but I have a copy on my shelf. Can’t wait to read it.

    I’ve read all the books you recommended for the Hunger Games and I totally agree with you! They’re so awesome!

    Check out my Top Ten?

    Janus @ The Blair Book Project

  5. I totally agree with your picks for The Hunger Games!! :)

    Here is mine TTT Ja čitam, a ti?

  6. It is great to see Girl of Frre and Thorns on this list. (It made our TTT, too, for strong female leads). It is such a great book but is still under the radar. And I totally agree about Partials by Dan Wells. Great TTT.

  7. Awesome choices! What’s the thing about Graceling, really? I feel like everyone loves it and it does sound great to me, but from what I’ve heard it must be epic :) – Definiely need to check that one out!
    My TTT:
    http://booksmartie.blogspot.de/2012/07/i-dont-know-how-it-is-for-you-guys-but.html

  8. Excellent, excellent list! I think I have quite of few of those on my list as well and so many of my favorites!!

  9. I’ve been meaning to get around to Inkheart — I hear it’s a book about books, plus just really good!

  10. Great list! I love that you provided lots of recommendations. I’ll look into most of these.

    Jennifer @ Feminist Fairy Tale Reviews
    http://feministfairytalereviews.blogspot.com/2012/07/top-ten-tuesday-29-books-for-fans-of.html

  11. I know so much fun right?

    brooke – Yes I have faith that i’ll love The Maze Runner but I haven’t gotten to it yet. Next time there is a lull in my holds for sure!

    Grad Student – I totally agree, Girl of Fire and THorns needs more attention!

    BookSmartie -Graceling completely won me over. It was instant love. For me Epic wouldn’t be an understatement :)

    Melissa -I’m not totally through Inkheart but it is a fun book and such an interesting story…book characters leave the book, and authors and book collectors are the main players I recommend it!

  12. Great choices! I loved how you have split everything in different recommendations! :)

  13. I love Vampire Academy and I just got the Hunger Games book for my birthday.

    NEW FOLLOWER!

    My Top Ten

  14. Thanks for the recommendations.

    I am 100% on board with the Maze Runner series. There’s a prequel about to be released – can’t wait!

    Another absolute page turner trilogy for me starts with The Forest of Hands and Teeth. Zombie dystopian awesomeness!

    My last favorite trilogy starts with The Ask and The Answer. What would happen if you could hear what people were thinking – out loud – all the time?

    Love your refashions AND your reading; my masters is in reading; my BA is in English, and I teach world history – I am a GIGANTIC YA fan, too!

    Cheers,
    Laura

  15. These are all EXCELLENT choices! Esp Graceling/The Hunger Games pairings.

  16. Always looking for good book recommendations! Right now working on several, divergent and one on kindle named wool…Thanks for sharing. :-)

  17. I think I’m going to have to read Partials. I’m a huge Divergent and HG fan but I’ve not read Partials yet.

    Legend and Shatter Me are also on my ever growing to-read list :)

Leave a Reply